Healthy Habits

IMG_2304
A few of my must-haves

If you’ve read my “Why I Sold My Gucci Belt” post (if not you definitely should and I’ll link it here) you’ll know that I’m not 100% comfortable with my body. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not ashamed, I don’t feel ugly, I would just prefer to have a flatter stomach.

As someone who is winded by walking up the stairs to class (I’m telling you these are some serious stairs) exercise has never really been my thing. Now couple that with the fact that my boyfriend owns a burger shack (yay for free food, nay for fries all day) and you can probably figure out how that pooch came to be.

My fitness journey began a few weeks ago when I decided to pop into the gym across the street to grab a green juice from the juice bar. I showed up to school (feeling super fit) with my Lululemon leggings and this super healthy juice and it all pretty much spiraled from there. While in class I decided to purchase a yoga mat and by lunchtime, I had signed up for the gym (30% because I wanted to and 70% because if I’m buying this super cute yoga mat I need people to see it).

IMG_2326
Green Island smoothie from Nooks n Kindles

This gym happens to be  conveniently located across the street (literally you just cross the street) from my apartment. How could I not go! For years I’ve been hesitant to join a gym (truthfully I don’t know what to do with any of the equipment) instead I opted for SoulCycle as my workout of choice. Something about taking a class, being locked in on a bike (a piece of equipment I know how to use) and having someone instructing me put my nerves at ease. I loved SoulCycle but I recently moved a little bit farther from my studio and having a gym across the street from my new place is a luxury I should not take for granted.

At my new gym I still spin, I haven’t taken a spin class yet but I’ll create my own SoulCycle inspired routine. I also take a Cardio Dance class at 9:30 on Sundays which I love! The best part about my new gym is (obviously the food) the juice bar Nooks n Kindles owned by my friends Kendall and Nick. It’s nice to see familiar faces in a new intimidating environment and their acai bowls, juices, and smoothies (all organic) make for the perfect apres-workout treat.

fullsizeoutput_33b
Acai bowl from Nooks n Kindles

 

To keep me motivated I decided to splurge a little on some new gym accessories. So far it’s working and I’m loving them!

Here’s what I’ve been buying:

  1. Nike Air Max 2017
  2. Ban.do Yoga Mat
  3. Star Leggings (really into stars on everything these days, I blame Saint Laurent)
IMG_9161_1566681a-7bdf-4842-902d-58206e74e6a1
These leggings are super soft and high waisted!

A few of my must-haves at the gym:

  1. Hand Sanitizer (other peoples sweat, yuck)
  2. Lip Balm 
  3. Headphones (I use the new apple ones, pretty standard)
  4. Hair ties (invisbobble are my favorite)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

